Yay! I am deeply grateful for this award given to me by a fellow Filipino anime blogger, JAPANime Talks. Thank you for the nomination. This is also a good opportunity for me to tell something about random things asked by awesome bloggers out there.

sunshine-blogger-award-logo

Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

JAPANime Talks’ Questions: 

Hisoka or Chrollo? And why?

Woah! Honestly, it’s quite hard to choose between them as they are both clever and versatile when it comes to battle. Everyone would surely get hyped for real. But I guess, I’d rather choose Chrollo. His overall disposition is far beyond Hisoka’s tactics.

What was the most thought-provoking anime / manga you’ve watched / read?

I have to say it would be the series Danganronpa, particularly the first season, stressed out my mental capacity to its highest extent as the series requires a lot of deep analysis, critical thinking and great effort to solve everything as possible. It’s about investigating a certain tragedy – who the person was behind the event, what exactly happened and how everything happened in just the blink of an eye. My role as an audience is also the characters’ role in the series. I had to join them fictionally, I needed to think deeply to come up with a solution to a certain problem. I was thrilled and at the same time, goosebumping while watching the series.

What was the most overrated AND underrated anime series you’ve encountered?

Naruto is one of those highly viewed anime series in various streaming sites, and I considered it as the most overrated series among the generation. Even before the existence of those series you get crazy over with such as Attack on Titan and Sword Art Online, Naruto series has never been placed on the bottom line when it comes to overall impact. I have grown up watching this long run anime ever since it was first broadcast in our country’s local TV network when the world wide web was not prevalent among the young ones and I was very dependent on TV screen. Much more, the hyped of the audience was at its peak when Shippuden was about to release. Honestly speaking, I stopped watching the series, particularly at the middle of the Shippuden, not because I didn’t want the anime but because I had to reconsider other series as there were lots of good anime that deserved a spotlight.

As for the underrated anime series, I think it would be Baby Steps, a sports anime that is all about a young boy who decides to enter the tennis world. Despite it offers a lot of potential as a sports anime, the series might be neglected by anime fans since the legendary series The Prince of Tennis has been one of those highly recommended sports anime although with different concept as to the storyline of Baby Steps. 

If given a chance to rewrite a part of the Naruto series, which character death would you have prevented? Why? If none, why?

If I were the writer of the manga, I could’ve not prevented a character from a death scene because almost all of them died for good reasons and it makes the mangaka to get more emotional and be inspired to keep on creating the story meaningful. Dramatically speaking, they died to protect someone they really care for.

Have you done something so uncharacteristically hilarious in the name of anime? If yes, what is it?

I wouldn’t feel embarrassed about this but.. it’s always my routine to say “Oyasumi” to my bishounen posters in my room when I go to sleep. Well, I can easily transform myself into an overly crazy fangirl. *laughs*

IF, by some astronomically thin chance, anime and manga gets banned, what would be the FIRST THING you’ll do?

I will definitely go to Akihabara. Since it’s about to get banned, I will take the chance, risk my money, time and effort to go to Akihabara. It’s one of my dream place in Japan.

Who’s your favorite FEMALE anime character of all times? Why?

This is hard to answer. I have lots in my mind, really. However, if I have to choose only one at this moment, it would be the character who, somehow, closely mirrors myself in terms of demeanor and philosophies in life, and that is Yukino Yukinoshita from the series Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabu Kome wa Machigatteiru. She is the character who seems to be the mysterious type in the group but you will soon realize how she values the world as a place for no worries, and follows the right path towards the most ideal things in the society. Despite her cold-hearted and serious disposition, she is rather kind to others. Watching her throughout the series is like a reflection to me, the way she connects with other people and how she can easily show her clumsiness in some situations.

What’s your primary motivation for blogging?

My strong passion to express what I’ve never achieved along with my current career as a growing individual – and that is writing- motivates me to keep on doing what I’ve always really wanted. Blogging is an alternative way to achieve my frustration in life. Relatively, I have wanted to burst out my enthusiasm towards the Japanese culture since I’m quite the mysterious type in reality. I want to satisfy myself in a more realistic manner through blogging and that keeps me from doing what I want. No one can ever stop me from doing what I really love.

If given a chance to team up with another anime blogger for an awesome blog post, who will it be? Why?

It would be Infinite Zenith. The blog has been working for over the years with good write ups and it makes me inspired to continue what I love doing. From the time I started to devote myself to bloggers’ community, Infinite Zenith has been always there to feed my curiosity, review various anime series, post random thoughts and lots. I just simply love how the blog expresses a wide knowledge and imagination even to the most random things.

What’s the most exotic food you’ve tasted so far?

I love to eat Asian foods such as Japanese dishes, but I haven’t yet tasted a food which I should consider to be, like, above the ordinary. Maybe, what seems to be exotic for others is not exotic in my own tongue.

What was that thing you did that you’re most proud of?

I’m always proud of the things I love to do without being ashamed to show the world who I am, and that is – the 100% authentic me.

Again, thank you so much for this award. Now, my turn to ask random questions. Don’t worry because it will only take a short time to answer these simple yet interesting questions. Maybe, you have already encountered some of the questions so it will be easy for you to tell something about it.

My Nominees:

My Questions:

  • What is your primary goal in blogging?
  • What aspect in your blog do you like the most? 
  • What do you want to improve in your blog? 
  • Describe how the anime generation has changed over the years. Do you prefer old anime series (like those under 90s era) or modern anime? 
  • What is your least favorite genre of anime? Can you give few examples? 
  • Which do yo prefer to blog: Episodic anime review or overall brief review? Why? 
  • What are your thoughts about live action adaptation of anime and manga? What aspects do you like and dislike about it? 
  • How do your friends (who are non-anime fans) react in various things you do in the name of anime? 
  • What job or career would you like to pursue in relation to Japanese culture? (Like mangaka, voice actor, etc.) And Why? 
  • What social media do you frequently use? Do you also express your passion for anime and the likes through social media? 
  • What is your impression about me as a blogger? 
13 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award: Kurumi Shim’s Spotlight

  1. Congratulations on the award and thanks for the nomination. I responded to this award recently so I’m probably not going to follow up this time (sorry).
    I will answer you question 4 though about whether I prefer old anime series or modern and the answer is it doesn’t matter when something came out as long as it tells a good story. Obviously modern anime looks a bit better than 90’s anime but stuff that told an awesome story back then is still really entertaining.
    What I do like is better access to anime now than ever before. In the 90’s getting acces to anything was very hit and miss so other than the obvious titles most 90’s anime wouldn’t have even been heard of in Australia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay, Karandi. I already knew you responded to this award. Your blog deserves a mention for this post, so I decided to include you in my nominees, in case you might have changed your mind to answer my questions. You’re one of those awesome anime bloggers in my list, really.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts on question #4. I decided to ask that question since nostalgic events from the legendary era of anime have a big impact to the audience. In my experience, I have grown up watching old titles that still exist at present times in the mind of those who have experienced the same generation as I did. The excitement before was at its highest point as waiting for a single episode on TV screen and wake up on the next day for another episode. But you’re right, Anime nowadays has better access in this modern society. It supports the fact how the old anime generation for many years have intensively progressed into a more defined industry for anime fans.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohhh thanks for the nomination! I will try to work on this soon! You’re the second person to nominate me so I really should get to this post!! Ah! You’re Filipino?! Me too!! Also I love the comment about saying “oyasumi” to your posters! I probably would do the same if I had posters! Unfortunately I don’t have any because I think I may be too old to be having bishounens on my wall. Lol maybe when I get a house I’ll have a designated room for all my anime and gaming stuff! I would probably have a makoto tachibana poster I’d say goodnight too! lmao!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh! Hi there, fellow Filipino anime blogger! I’m quite surprised we actually share the same blood. That’s great!

      I’m about to reach the quarter part of my life, but I think I’m not that old enough as an early adulthood. No matter what age group I belong, l will never be ashamed to show how crazy I am in front of those fictional hotties. *laughs*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lol! I was also surprised to find a fellow Filipino blogger!! Also I’m in my early 30s and I fangirl over them on my phone backgrounds and some art I put up in my cubicle!! I’m totes crazy about these boys!! Hahah! I might pick up saying oyasumi to makoto before I go to bed!

        Like

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination! I did this award only recently on my blog, so I won’t be able to do it again but I really appreciate it. Thanks for thinking of me!
    Your answers were great! Even I sometimes say Oyasumi to myself before going to sleep. I try to fit as many Japanese phrases as I can into my daily conversations lol and receiving baffled responses from others.
    I would love to visit Akihabara someday.
    Great post and congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your blog is awesome and I have wanted to include you in my list, although I already knew that you received this award quite recently. Thanks for dropping by anyway.

      I don’t want Akihabara to be just a dream, I want it to be a reality. So, take action. That’s right!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on the award and thanks for the nomination. I did this recently so I won’t be able to attempt all the questions, but I liked your 6th question so I will be answering it.

    I post overall anime review in my blog and thus prefer it over episode by episode review. The reason is that I’m lazy :p But seriously, I prefer overall because I’m actually pretty detailed about my description and if I start writing episode reviews, it will certainly spoil my readers. So yeah, that’s the whole reason.

    Anyway, congrats again and hope you keep on achieving great things in your blogging career.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your blog truly deserves a spotlight for this award. Though you already responded to this post, I still included you in my list.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts on my 6th question. I also prefer to post overall review. I guess, with my busy schedule at work, it would be hard for me to make episodic review though I have already tried making for 2 or 3 anime titles before. I feel more expressive with my thoughts when I view a certain series as a whole as I can easily share my ideas in a broader sense but can still be specific in a particular aspect.

      Yeah, let’s continue to make great things in this awesome bloggers’ community.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

